New Jersey Herald May 9 2017

Sparta artist wins Best in Show in gallery exhibit

Perry Anderson presents the best in Show award to Ann Smiga Greene               Ann Smiga Greene with her best in show painting Vol Des Fleurs

Buy Photo

Photo by Warren Westura/New Jersey Herald From left, Sussex County Arts and Heritage Council Board of Trustees President Perry Anderson and Trevor Hodgson, council member, present the Best in Show award to artist Ann Smiga Greene, of Sparta, at the 30th Skylands Juried Art Reception at the Sussex County Arts and Heritage Council in Newton this past weekend. The exhibit can be viewed through June 10 in the council gallery on Spring Street in Newton. On May 20, Mary Birmingham, who judged the art show, will be at the council gallery at 4:30 p.m. for a critique and discussion. The event is open to the public and admission is free.

NEWTON -- A floral watercolor with a rainbow of colors captured the eye of judge Mary Birmingham, who awarded Best in Show to artist Ann Smiga Greene for her piece "Vol des fleurs" during the 30th annual Skylands Juried Art Exhibit held at the Sussex County Arts and Heritage Council on Saturday evening.

The watercolor, with a French title that translates as "flight of flowers," was among 67 works of art by 47 artists that adorned the walls of the SCAHC gallery, all chosen by Birmingham during a digital viewing earlier last month.

During a visit to the gallery on May 2, Birmingham chose her top 12 winners after nearly an hour of concentrated browsing. Her choices were kept secret until Saturday during an opening reception where artists received their awards, which totaled $2,700.

Entertainment was provided by William John Pope and the champagne reception was sponsored by the New Jersey Herald, Thorlabs and Smith-McCracken Funeral Home.

The following artists received awards:

º The Bruce and Beverly Gordon Award, second place, to Chris Dziuba for "Placer River, AK."

º The Anne H. Hanifan Memorial Award to Derek Cameron for "Underpass."

º The Dr. John and Mrs. Katherine Bonner Award went to Denise Sivulich for "Untitled."

º The George W. Morville Award went to Marv Kaminsky for "Old Homestead."

º The Robert G. McCoy Memorial Award went to Rich Swenson for "Sunflowers."

º The Charles Tice Award went to Tim Gaydos for "Under the Bridge."

º The Eleanor Kehow Rank Award went to Ammara Khan for "Arlington Cemetery in IR."

º The Patricia A. Pope Award for watercolor went to Theresa Kubert for "Veterans Day."

º The Angela Kelliher Memorial Award from the Board of Trustees went to Carol Tremper for "Dried Roots."

º The President's Award went to Kathy Brennan-Hughes for "Roots."

º The Little Seeley's Farm award for pastel went to Lisa Diller for "Autumn Woods."


                                                                                                                      © Sussex County Arts & Heritage Council     phone: 973 383 0027    133 Spring Street,Newton NJ 07860

The SCAHC gallery is open Tuesday to Friday, 10am to 5pm, Saturday noon to 4pm

Sussex County Arts & Heritage Council is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization

  • Home
  • Report by New Jersey Herald
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software